Japanese Whisky Types

Japanese whisky is sold under various types. They are most likened to the same regulations that govern Scotch whisky. 


Single Malt - Whisky that is distilled and blended from a single distillery, aged for a minimum of three years.

Blended - Whisky that is blended from local and imported grain spirits and ages for a time in wood.  

Grain - Whisky that is produced through a continuous distillation process. Sometimes referred to as Coffey Malt.

Japanese Whisky History

Japanese whisky can largely be attributed to the curiosity and endeavours of the two founders of Japanese whisky, Masataka Taketsuru and Shinjiro Torii.

Learn More